No Passport Required
Slide Name

Fun Facts

Puerto Rico is 100 miles long and 35 miles wide; roughly the size of Connecticut. Puerto Rico is known for its culture, beaches and its impressive natural and manmade wonders.

  • In Puerto Rico, Spanish and English are the official languages; most Puerto Ricans speak English.
  • Puerto Rico has three bioluminescent bays in Vieques, Fajardo and La Parguera.
  • Puerto Rico is a U.S. territory; therefore, U.S. citizens don't need a passport to enter Puerto Rico and the U.S. dollar is the official currency.
  • San Juan is the largest capital in the Caribbean.
  • Puerto Rico's first inhabitants date back to 2,000 BC. Travelers can learn more about Pre-Columbian history at Puerto Rico's indigenous ceremonial parks.
  • Puerto Rico's mascot is a tiny tree frog called the coquí, which is found only in Puerto Rico. It is said that the "ko-kee" melody can be heard all around the island.
  • El Yunque, one of Puerto Rico's most visited destinations is the only subtropical rainforest in the U.S. National Forest Service.
  • Puerto Rico's Mona Island, home to more than 100 endangered species, is known as the "Galapagos of the Caribbean."
  • The island contains 300 beaches that includes eight beaches that have been listed under the prestigious Blue Flag Programme, which awards sustainable efforts at maintaining high standards of water quality, environmental education and management, and safety.
  • Puerto Rico's hurricane season begins in June and runs through November. The peak month for hurricanes is October.

View Puerto Rico in a larger map